What is EuroPride?

EuroPride is a pan-European international LGBT event featuring a pride parade, hosted by a different European city each year. The host city is usually one with an established gay pride event or a strong LGBT community. When voting for the host city, experience of the organisers, political significance of the event for the region and host city’s gay friendliness all come into play.

EuroPride licence is held by European Pride Organisers Association (EPOA), an umbrella organisation for European pride organisers. The host city of EuroPride is voted on at the annual general assembly of EPOA and therefore is chosen by EPOA member organisations.

EuroPride was first celebrated in London in 1992, attended by estimated crowds of over 100,000. Since then it has continued to grow both in number of participants and political significance, though not always at the same time! In 1997 in Paris over 300,000 people marched to the Bastille. In 2011 around 1,000,000 people attended pride festivities in Rome by the Coliseum. However in between a smaller scale EuroPride took place in Warsaw, Poland, where 10,000 people braved the streets of still conservative ex-communist country to hold an important political demonstration that proved to be a turning point for LGBT rights in Poland.

EuroPride 2015 was awarded to Riga, Latvia after Association of LGBT and their friends MOZAIKA delivered a bid based on solidarity with LGBT community in post-Soviet countries and significance of strengthening the freedom of assembly and freedom of speech in Eastern Europe.

It was decided by EPOA that a World Pride event held in Europe also automatically carries the title of EuroPride so there are no two clashing international LGBT pride events in Europe the same year.

WorldPride, organised by InterPride (International Pride Organisers Assocation, which EPOA is a part of), is an international pride event that promotes LGBT issues on an world wide level.

Host cities of EuroPride (chronologically)

1992 London
1993 Berlin
1994 Amsterdam
1996 Copenhagen
1997 Paris
1998 Stockholm
2000 Rome (WorldPride)
2001 Vienna
2002 Cologne
2003 Manchester
2004 Hamburg
2005 Oslo
2006 London
2007 Madrid
2008 Stockholm
2009 Zurich
2010 Warsaw
2011 Rome
2012 London (WorldPride)
2013 Marseille
2014 Oslo
2015 Riga
2016 Amsterdam
2017 Madrid (WorldPride)
2018 Stockholm & Gothenburg
2019 Vienna
2020 Thessaloniki
2021 Copenhagen (WorldPride)

WP_20140901_12_57_00_Pro-1The EuroPride Quilt
The EuroPride Quilt is here to represent every city, organisation and community that EuroPride has ever gone to. Each of the EuroPride organisers has left their mark on the pride movement history and is reflected in the diversity and colourfulness of the EuroPride Quilt. Passing on the Quilt from city to city, from community to community, is not a mere formality of EuroPride changing host cities but shows us the true spirit of EuroPride – unity and continuity that is being created by moving millions in pride!